Posted by: Zorymar | December 5, 2011

Lime Sugar Cookies with Pumpkin Seeds

Tomorrow we have our cookie exchange at work; I can’t believe how fast this year has gone by! It seems like it was only yesterday that I was baking my grandma’s cat’s tongue cookies for the occasion, and here I am, baking cookies again, a whole year later. This year I decided to try a new recipe, and since I’ve been cooking from the Rebar Modern Food Cookbook, I thought I’d try this one. I bypassed a couple of steps, but these cookies turned out pretty tasty regardless. Not too sweet, with a hint of lime and the crunch of pepitas, I think I might be baking these again before the end of the year…

Ingredients:
1 cup sugar
1/4 cup unsalted butter (at room temperature, softened)
1 tablespoon vegetable oil
zest of 1 lime
juice of 1 lime (about 2 tablespoons)
1 egg
1 and 3/4 cups flour
1/4 cup pumpkin seeds or pepitas (the recipe called for them to be toasted and chopped, I just threw them in as they were)
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon sea salt

Preparation:
Preheat the oven to 350. In a bowl place the sugar, butter, oil, lime zest, lime juice and egg. Mix with a hand blender at medium speed until everything is combined well. In another bowl place the rest of the ingredients (flour, pumpkin seeds, baking soda and salt) and mix to combine. Incorporate the dry ingredients to the first mix and combine well (I used my hands). Using a teaspoon measure, scoop the mix into little balls, then place on a cookie sheet (I used a silicone baking mat), flatten slightly with your fingers and sprinkle with a bit of sugar. Bake for 8 to 10 minutes. Place on a wire rack to cool. Eat and enjoy!

Responses

  1. A hint of lime sounds SO delicious in these cookies. 🙂

    • Thanks Krista! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

