Posted by: Zorymar | October 9, 2011

Apple Raisin Chutney

Yesterday a couple of friends showed up at my door with a large box of apples from Salt Spring Island. I knew they were coming, I told them that yes, of course I’d love some of those lovely apples, but I have to admit I was a bit suprised at the amount! Surprised in a good way of course, as I immediately started to devise ways in which to use these fresh apples. I decided I would start small, and use a few to make apple chutney, or at least my version of a chutney. I looked in my cupboard and tossed in some raisins and some of my favourite spices. Oh what lovely smells filled my home!

Ingredients:
5 apples, peeled, cored and chopped
1/2 small yellow onion, chopped
1 teaspoon fresh ginger root, chopped
1/4 cup apple cider vinegar
1/4 cup apple juice
3 tablespoons brown sugar
1/2 cup raisins
1 dash of cinnamon
1 dash of black pepper
1 dash of ground cardamom
1 dash of nutmeg
1 dash of ground cloves
1 dash of turmeric

Preparation:
Place all ingredients in a pot over medium-high heat, stirring well to combine. Bring to a boil, then lower heat to a simmer, cover and let cook for about 30 minutes, stirring often, until the apples are soft and brown. Place in a glass bowl and refrigerate. Enjoy as a condiment for chicken, turkey or pork.

Leave a Reply

Categories

