Posted by: Zorymar | September 25, 2011

Pulled Pork

The other day during a conversation over lunch my coworkers started talking about slow cooker recipes. I had to confess this was literally a foreign concept to me, as in Venezuela we never really used slow cookers. I had ordered a pulled pork sandwich for lunch as I was craving that rich, earthy flavour, and I mentioned that I didn’t really know how to make it. That’s when the slow cooker conversation started as one of my coworkers said how absolutely easy it was to make pulled pork using a slow cooker. Another coworker immediately offered to indefinitely “lend” me her slow cooker as she never used it, and voila, I ended up with a lovely slow cooker in my kitchen! I looked for several recipes online and settled for a combination of a couple, resulting in the one below. I can’t wait to continue to try new slow cooker recipes, specially during the winter months!

Ingredients:
1.5 kilos (approximately 3 pounds) boneless pork shoulder, cut in chunks, most fat removed
2 onions, chopped
2 red peppers, chopped
1 small can (5.5 oz) of tomato paste
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/4 cup chili powder
2 teaspoons yellow mustard
2 teaspoons Worcestershire sauce
Salt and pepper to taste

Preparation:
Place pork, onions and peppers in slow cooker. In a separate bowl combine the tomato paste, brown sugar, chili powder, mustard and Worcestershire sauce, then add to the meat and vegetables and mix well to coat evenly (I used my hands to rub the mix well into the meat). Turn slow cooker on to low temperature, cook for at least 6 hours (and up to 8 hours), until the pork is so tender that it falls apart. Shred the pork using two forks, then season with salt and pepper to taste. You can serve on fresh warmed buns with coleslaw for delicious pulled pork sandwiches!

Leave a Reply

Categories

