Posted by: Zorymar | September 24, 2011

Arepas a la Plancha

On a prior post I described how to make arepas using a tosti-arepa, so this time I thought I would show you how to make arepas “a la plancha”, which basically means cooking something on a warm metal plank or griddle over a fire or stove. This was my first breakfast during my most recent visit to Venezuela made lovingly by my cousin-aunt Maritza. She starts off with the same instructions provided here for making the dough. She then takes a small amount of dough in her hands and forms it into a round ball, proceeding to flatten it with the palms of her hands. Then she places the arepas on a preheated griddle or “plancha”, letting them cook for a few minutes on each side until a crust is formed. She places a lid on top to finish off the cooking process, just for a few minutes on each side.

Responses

  1. I love your blog!! Do you know how to store leftover arepas? Can you freeze them? Thanks.

    • Thanks Pamela!
      I usually don’t freeze arepas as I prefer to have them freshly made. If you have left over dough you can keep it in the fridge for a couple of days, just make sure to put it in a closed container or wrap it well with some plastic wrap.
      When we had left over arepas at home we would simply leave them on the counter, loosely covered with a kitchen towel. One thing my grandma used to do with left over arepas was to slice them in half lengthwise, beat a couple of eggs, dip the arepa halves in the egg and then fry them in vegetable oil, she called them “tostadas”.
      My dad also loved to have day-old arepas with soup, he would just break them into small pieces and dunk them in the soup.
      Hope this helps, happy arepa making! 🙂

      • Thank you! You gave me some great ideas.


Leave a Reply

Categories

