Posted by: Zorymar | July 23, 2011

Cherry tomatoes, bocconcini and basil salad

This morning I woke up with a plan: go in search of fresh produce around the Saanich Peninsula farms. It was quite a successful trip; I found great, fresh, organic and colourful vegetables and berries.

I came back home just in time to prepare a quick lunch before watching my beloved Vinotinto play against Peru in the Copa America. I cut some red and yellow cherry tomatoes from Sun Wing Tomatoes, diced a couple of Natural Pastures bocconcini, chopped some lovely fresh basil from my friends’ backyard, put all these goodies in a bowl, added a sprinkle of sea salt and fresh ground pepper, a splash of olive oil and balsamic vinegar, and tossed it all to combine.

I cut a slice of fresh foccacia I got at Oldfield Orchard and Bakery and proceeded to dig in to a tasty and fresh meal, perfect for a sunny day like today! For dessert I washed a handful of blueberries and raspberries I got at Phil’s Farm, juicy, sweet and so delicious!

Unfortunately la Vinotinto lost 4 to 1, but I’m still proud to see how far Venezuela has come in soccer, there’s a lot of promise there for years to come! 🙂

Responses

  1. What a perfect, healthy and oh so delicious meal! 🙂 I’d gobble this right up and be a happy camper. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

