Posted by: Zorymar | July 12, 2011

My Grandma’s Chicken Milanese

This is one of those dishes that remind me so much of my grandma’s cooking… Ever since I can remember I have memories of her making these chicken Milanese for us, always crunchy on the outside, juicy on the inside, and oh so delicious!

Ingredients:
2 chicken breasts, boneless and skinless
1/4 cup flour
2 whole eggs, beaten
1/2 cup bread crumbs
Salt and ground pepper
3 tablespoons butter
3 tablespoons vegetable oil

Preparation:
Butterfly cut each chicken breast, then wrap in plastic and pounce on them to make them thinner and even (like this). You can leave them whole or cut them into smaller pieces.

Season each chicken breast with salt and pepper on both sides. Place the flour, eggs and bread crumbs in three separate plates or shallow containers, in that order.

Heat the butter and oil in a large frying pan at medium heat. Take each chicken cutlet and dredge first in the flour, making sure to coat both sides and dust off the excess flour; then dip into the egg, letting the excess drip off; finally dip in the breadcrumbs, coating each side well and evenly. Place breaded chicken in pan with sizzling butter and heated oil and cook until golden brown, flip over with tongs (don’t pinch with a fork) and let cook again until golden brown and crispy. Place on paper towels to absorb any excess oil, and serve.

A couple of things to consider: if you don’t want “breaded” fingers, use tongs throughout the process. I use my fingers simply because I find it easier and more practical (I can always wash my hands!). If you want you can season the breadcrumbs adding a bit of grated Parmesan cheese, I chose not to do that because I wanted to prepare these Milanese in the true Panchita style 🙂

Responses

  1. Mmm, these look marvelous! 🙂 I like that you fry them in a mix of butter and oil. 🙂

  2. Milanesa de Pollo is one of my favorites. The first picture looks amazing and delicious. I will have to try your recipe sometime.

    • I know, isn’t it delicious!? Let me know how it goes when you try it!


Leave a Reply

Categories

