Posted by: Zorymar | July 2, 2011

Raw Kale Salad

I’m learning more and more to buy produce that is local and in season; it’s always fresher, healthier and cheaper! Kale seems to be in season around here these days, as I keep running into it every time I go to the store, so this week (after my successful adventure making kale chips) I got some more. Searching for ideas on what to do with it (I had never had or cooked kale before I lived here) I encountered this recipe, which I decided to make with the ingredients I had at home. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did!

Ingredients:
4 – 6 big kale leaves
1/3 cup cannellini beans
6 – 8 dried apricots
1 handful whole raw almonds
1 handful shaved parmesan flakes
2 tablespoons wine vinegar
1 tablespoon olive oil
Salt and freshly ground pepper to taste

Preparation:
Wash and dry the kale leaves. With your fingers, tear the tought inner stem and then cut the leaves into bite-size pieces, add to a bowl. If your beans come in a can (I used this brand), rinse them and drain them well, then add the 1/3 cup to the bowl with the kale. Chop the dried apricots into smaller chunks and add to the bowl, along with the almonds and parmesan flakes. In a separate small container with a tight-fitting lid combine the vinegar and oil and shake vigorously to combine and emulsify, then add to the salad along with a pinch of salt and pepper to taste, toss to combine well and coat the kale and serve.

Leave a Reply

Categories

