Posted by: Zorymar | June 24, 2011

The Secret About Limes

A long time ago my grandma Pancha taught me how to pick the best limes:

Avoid limes with a rough or ‘corrugated’ peel, like this one:

Look for limes with a smooth peel, like this one:

See the difference?

Size doesn’t matter, but colour does! Ideally look for a bit of yellow among all that green:

I thought I knew it all when it came to limes, but it turns out there is always something new to learn. This week I took a cooking class with Chef Heidi Fink, who shared her secret on how to cut limes to get the most juice out of them: basically the idea is to cut wedges around the core of the lime, like so:
 

This way you get an incredible amount of juice out of each wedge, and you can even ‘wring’ the centre for a little extra!

Responses

  1. Huh. Will try that. Knew about the skin smoothness and color, but never thought to cut that way. Makes sense.

    I always just roll the lime (or lemon or orange, etc) under the palm of my hand and the counter top, applying pressure to get the fruit inside to burst open, then when you cut you have an extremely juicy fruit.

    Thanks for sharing the cutting technique.

    • Yes, you’re absolutely right about rolling the limes too, great tip, thanks for sharing!

  2. That is so interesting, Zory! My Mexican friend Johanna taught me the same lessons about choosing good limes, but I’ve never heard that juicing trick. Thank you! 🙂

    • You’re welcome Krista! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

