Posted by: Zorymar | June 7, 2011

Iced Chai Latte

I. Love. Chai. Tea.
Need I say more!? 🙂 This is my home-made, iced version, which is perfect for Summer. A word of caution, if you are expecting a super-sweet and creamy chai latte like the one from Starbucks you might be disappointed. I don’t care for super-sweet chai, what I love about it are the spices and how their flavours coat your tongue, so that is what you’ll get with this recipe, along with a very refreshing drink! This will produce 1 large glass or 2 small to medium ones.

Ingredients:
2 cups of water
1 cinnamon stick
1 black cardamom pod
12 whole cloves
1 teaspoon fennel seeds
5 black pepper corns
Black tea (1 tea bag or 1 teaspoon of loose-leaf tea)
1/2 cup of milk
3 teaspoons of agave nectar or honey

Preparation:
In a pot, bring the water to a boil, incorporate all the spices, let boil for about 1 minute, take off the stove and let steep for about 10 minutes. Add the tea and let steep for another 10 minutes, approximately. Strain into a heat-resistant glass or container and place in the fridge to cool. Once cooled, add the milk and agave or honey, stir and serve in a glass with plenty of ice. You can place a cinnamon stick in there if you want to. Enjoy!

Responses

  1. YUM! I’m a huge fan on Chai anything! I recently made Chai Cupcakes, they were great. I’m looking forward to trying your recipe.. thanks for sharing! 🙂

    • Chai cupcakes!? I have to get me some of those! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

