Posted by: Zorymar | November 23, 2010

Zucchini muffins

Well, La Niña is here! Today Victoria was taken by surprise mid-morning by lots of snow and howling winds. Yes, we are in Canada, however Victoria doesn’t get much snow, so when it does there’s always a bit of chaos in the city. We were allowed to leave work at noon, so after I got home I really needed to warm up my place and myself, the solution: baking! I looked online and combined several recipes I found for zucchini muffins; this is the one I ended up with, basically using what I had in my fridge and cupboard.

Ingredients:
2 1/2 cups flour
1 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
3/4 cup vegetable oil
1 cup brown sugar
2 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 1/2 cup grated zucchini (including the peel or skin)

Preparation:
Preheat the oven at 350. Brush a muffin baking pan with melted butter (I used one for regular muffins and one for mini-muffins). In one bowl combine the flour, salt, cinnamon and ginger. In a separate bowl whisk together the oil, sugar, eggs and vanilla. Combine both mixes, then add the zucchini. Pour in the baking pans and bake for about 10 to 15 minutes. This quantity rendered 6 regular sized muffins and 12 mini-muffins. The best part is sharing them with the neighbours! 🙂

Responses

  1. What a perfect thing to do and eat on a stormy day like this. 🙂 SO glad you made it home safe and sound. 🙂

    • Thanks Krista, baking is always the best answer to cold, winter weather! 😉

  2. I LOVE zucchini muffins and these look quite healthy too. Yum! 🙂

    • Thanks Elina! Your blog is full of healthy recipes, thanks for sharing 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

