Posted by: Zorymar | October 24, 2010

Tajadas (fried ripe plantain slices)

There are smells that trigger memories and take us to different times and places. The smell of fried plantains reminds me of my grandmother. Tajadas was one of my grandma’s favourite things to eat, she could just have those with white rice and be as content as can be! Tajadas are slices of ripe plantains fried in vegetable oil, just like that, no complications, lots of sweetness and good flavour, and for me, many memories of past times spent in my grandma’s kitchen…

Ingredients:
Ripe plantains
Vegetable oil

Preparation:
Cut the plantains in half, peel them and slice each half length-wise. Heat vegetable oil in a frying pan over medium-high heat, add the plantain slices and cook approximately 2 to 3 minutes per side or until golden brown. Place on a paper towel to absorb any excess oil. Tajadas are a great side dish and go with almost anything. You could also try them in the true Panchita style: with lots of grated cheese on top!

Responses

  1. Oh wow! I’ve wanted to make these for a long time, Zorymar, but I don’t know where to find plantains. 🙂 Perhaps you can teach me how to do them “just right” when I come to visit you? I would love that!!

    • Absolutely Krista! It’s easier than you think 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

