Posted by: Zorymar | October 19, 2010

Thanksgiving

This year my grandmother’s birthday coincided with the Canadian Thanksgiving, so I decided to have some friends over for dinner. What better way is there to celebrate Panchola’s birthday than cooking for loved ones!? I did however warn them: no turkey! This would be a very Latin Thanksgiving. I prepared yuca fries and hallaquitas, shredded beef and ceviche (one of my friends is vegetarian), tostones and tajadas… a whole array of Venezuelan and Latin dishes!

Dinner was a success, a good time was had by all and, most importantly, they liked the food! Even one of my friends, who had a bad experience with arepas in the past, ate several hallaquitas with the shredded beef!

I was so thankful for having had a grandmother from whom I learned the love of cooking for others, and for having wonderful friends to cook for and with whom to share those dishes that remind me of home and my beloved family… here’s the dinner table right before the feast!

Leave a Reply

Categories

